Skip to main content

VM recycle bin

The VM recycle bin stores temporarily deleted VMs. VMs in the recycle bin still have their image and

configuration files retained, but the HA, DRS, DPM, and affinity rules do not take effect on them. You can put both online and offline VMs into the recycle bin. If you put an online VM into the recycle bin, the system will power off the VM. VMs in the recycle bin can be restored or destroyed.

• Filter VMs—Filters VMs in the recycle bin by a criterion.

• Restore VMs—Moves the VMs in the recycle bin to their attached host. The restored VMs have the same image files as before they are put into the recycle bin, but the VM rule and DRX VM settings are not restored.

• Destroy VMs—Completely deletes the VMs from the recycle bin. Destroyed VMs cannot be restored. You can manually destroy VMs or set the recycled VM lifetime in "Configure system parameters" for the system to automatically destroy VMs. Destroyed VMs cannot be recovered.

• View VM information—Displays the detailed configuration of a VM in the recycle bin.

Restrictions and guidelines

If the host to which a VM in the recycle bin is attached is unreachable or is manually deleted, the VM will also be destroyed, but the image file of the VM will be retained.

Filter VMs

  1. On the top navigation bar, click Compute.

  2. From the left navigation pane, select VM Recycle Bin.

  3. Click Advanced Query.

  4. Select a data center, cluster, or host, and then click OK.

Restore VMs

  1. On the top navigation bar, click Compute.

  2. From the left navigation pane, select VM Recycle Bin.

  3. Click Restore in the Actions column for a VM, or select one or more VMs, and then click Restore VM.

Destroy VMs

  1. On the top navigation bar, click Compute.

  2. From the left navigation pane, select VM Recycle Bin.

  3. Click Destroy in the Actions column for a VM, or select one or more VMs, and then click Destroy VM.

  4. Select the method to destroy the VM as described in "Parameters."

  5. Click OK.

View VM information

  1. On the top navigation bar, click Compute.

  2. From the left navigation pane, select VM Recycle Bin.

  3. Click View in the Actions column for a VM to view its information.